Paris in the spring

I’ve been saying some not-so-nice things about Paris lately. That’s because we’re frenemies. I find her irritating, and frankly not even very nice to me, yet for some reason, I keep feeling compelled to visit her, as Caitlin and I did this past weekend.

I’m pleased to report that gorgeous spring weather revealed a side of Paris that I’ve never seen before (perhaps she was suffering from S.A.D.?), so I can comfortably call us real friends now.

Picnic lunch in the Jardin du Luxembourg. (Also, I stand corrected about chairs--Paris does provide them, though Vienna's remain far superior.)

The point of this picture is not the Prada store. Au contraire, the point is the street sign: 7, rue de Grenelle!

What’s so special about 7, rue de Grenelle? Why, it’s the setting of Muriel Barbery’s fantastic novels Gourmet Rhapsody and The Elegance of the Hedgehog. The latter was adapted into in a film called The Hedgehog that I’ve watched in French. To those of you who are lucky enough to live in the Twin Cities, I highly recommend that you go see it at the MPLS International Film Festival this month. You can watch the preview here.

Canal St. Martin: Paris :: Brooklyn : New York

I’m infatuated with Canal St. Martin now , because it’s the first part of Paris to remind me of things I like about Minneapolis like bikes and tattoos.

Notre Dame and bookstalls are much better in the spring.

And that’s that. Our last hurrah in Paree.

One response to “Paris in the spring

  1. I’m sooo glad you made it to 7 Rue de Grenelle!

Leave a Reply

