Moroccan Around the Christmas Tree, Pt. III: Fez, cont’d.

Depending where I travel, I’m not necessarily interested in doing tons of sightseeing, checking things off a list just because they’re there. In most parts of the world, all I want to do is wander around, talk to people, eat good meals, and — most important of all — get lost in chaotic markets.

In Fez, we did some of each.

Non-Muslims can't enter the mosques, but you're allowed to peer in from the door to take pictures, which made me feel like a bit of a creep...

We took some fun pictures outside the royal palace. Yes, royal palace. They still have royalty there.

We also visited a cool spot above the city where you can see the whole medina from above. (Had I realized we would take so many pictures that night I would have dressed like less of a train wreck...)

Since the medina is walled-off, you access it from giant, gorgeous babs (doors).

Another place to check out the architecture is in schools. I loved the intricate artwork all over the place.

Have I mentioned that I ate some of the best meals of my LIFE in Fez? I don’t want to make you too jealous, but I have to give one of them special attention here because it was so nice of Bouz’s family to have us…and because every mouthful tasted so thoroughly fantastic.

Of the three meals Bouz's parents so generously invited us to, my favorite was this one: chicken cooked in a delicious green sauce and served with preserved lemons and numerous side dishes such as beans, zucchini, and homemade olives.

Next time on Classy Broad Abroad: the souqs (markets). I love them too much to squish them here.

Leave a Reply

