Chantons ensemble!

[Author’s note: As I was working on my post about Paris, I allowed myself to get distracted with something I’ve been wanting to post for weeks.]

My dear friend Rosie and I made up a great new hobby. We were inspired by Britney Spears’ guest appearance on Glee, which got her old songs stuck irreparably in our heads. As we cycled into town from our dorm wasteland, we began to translate nonsensical pop songs into French.

If you have ever endeavored to translate songs, you know that there’s a lot to consider: your translation has to fit the music without losing the integrity of the artist’s message. (I think we all know what a shame it would be to obscure Britney’s artistic vision.) I think Rosie and I really have a knack for it. With a little practice, we could be professionals.

So today, dear readers, I thought you might get a kick out of our translations. If you can’t read French, no worries—the best part is that I’ve re-translated our work back into English, just for kicks.

Britney Spears en français (Bretagne le Spears?)
Translations © EJ and Rosie

“Slave 4 U”

Original: I’m a slaaaaave for you
Translation: Je suis toooooon esclave
Re-translation: I am yoooour slave

“Drive Me Crazy”

Original: You drive me crazy / I just can’t speak / I’m so excited / I’m in too deep
Translation: Tu me rends folle / Je ne parle pas / Si passionante / Que j’n parle pas
Re-translation: You make me crazy / I do not speak / So passionate / That I don’t speak

“Oops (I Did It Again)”

Original: Oops / I did it again / I played with your heart / Got lost in the game/
Oh baby, baby / Oops / You think I’m in love / That I’m sent from aboooooove/
I’m not that innocent!
Translation: Hup / Je l’ai fait encore / J’ai brisé ton coeur / Perdue dans un jeux /
O bébé, bébé / Hup / Tu me trouves amoureuse / Envoyé par en hauuuuut /
Je ne suis pas si innocente!

Re-translation: Hup! / I did that again / I broke your heart / Lost in a game/
Oh baby, baby / Hup! / You find me enamored / Sent from aboooove /
I’m not so innocent!

I’m still tweaking a few other translations on my own, so I’ll probably post more some other day, but for now, ladies and gentlemen, I’d like to present to you my pièce de résistance, brought to you not by Britney but by HRH Lady Gaga (La Dame Gaga?)

“Bad Romance”

Original: Rah, rah, ah, ah, ah / Roma, roma, ma / Gaga, ooh, la, la / Want your bad romance
Translation: La, la, ooh là là / Hee, hee, hon, hon, hon / Gaga, ooh là là / Romance française
Re-translation: I think this one speaks for itself.

Leave a Reply

